Fisherman’s wool baby blanket

image

Wow, so it has been quite a while since my last post, a lot has been going on since then.

With spring coming I thought I should get this post out before it becomes too warm to want to think about knitting.

This winter I started working on a baby blanket with some wool yarn that I have had for quite sometime. I had been waiting for a good project to use it for since it was 100% wool and I only had one skein.

When I found this blanket pattern on ravelry.com I knew I had to try it. It only requires one skein or (625 yards) and the pattern was pretty and simple enough for me to understand, though I did have to YouTube a couple of things.

For complete instructions, you can download the free pattern here. Though, I believe you have to have an account on ravelry.com, which is free and totally worth it of you are in to knitting or crocheting at all, or want to be. I highly recommend, it there’s tons of free patterns and advice for all skill levels.

The pattern repeats after every four rows which makes thing simple.

Row 1: k1, k2tog, yo, k1,yo, ssk, k1
Row 2: purl
Row 3: k2tog, yo,k3, yo, ssk
Row 4: purl

Now, if you are like me, knitting abbreviations look like gibberish so I had to look some of the things up.

K1: knit one. Most basic, just a simple knit stitch one time.

K2tog : knit two together. Little more tricky, but just like it sounds you put your needle through two loops instead of one and knit them together. You can see it here.

yo: yarn over. Simply bring your yarn from the back to the front of your needle. You can see that here This allows to increase stitches.

ssk: slip, slip, knit. Take two stitches off onto your other needle one at a time then knit them together. Basically you switch the position of the two stitches before knitting them together. You can see that here.

While I was knitting my blanket my yarn broke a lot. I’m sure there’s a better way to deal with this, but I just knotted it and kept the end all on one side of the blanket. Then when I was done knitting, I took a crochet needle and wove the ends into the blanket.

image

 

image

I really enjoyed working with this pattern and once you get it down it goes pretty fast and you make a beautiful blanket, something I can now cross off my bucket list.

One thought on “Fisherman’s wool baby blanket

  1. Think I’ll stick to crochet hook and yarn…and thanks for the info on where to find a website for
    instructions on knitting and crocheting (ravelry.com) let me see…. maybe something really easy! Nanny

Leave a Reply

